

SALES AND USE TAX Vendor Allowance

April 7, 2025

DOR Administrative Costs/Savings X

Revised

Department of Revenue Analysis of H.F 2062 (Robbins) / S.F 2609 (Nelson)

	Fund Impact			
	F.Y. 2026	F.Y. 2027	F.Y. 2028	F.Y. 2029
	(000's)			
General Fund	(\$140,600)	(\$146,200)	(\$150,500)	(\$154,800)
Natural Resources and Arts Funds	(\$8,100)	(\$8,400)	(\$8,700)	(\$8,900)
Total – All Funds	(\$148,700)	(\$154,600)	(\$159,200)	(\$163,700)

Effective for sales and purchases made after June 30, 2025.

EXPLANATION OF THE BILL

Current Law: Minnesota law does not provide a vendor allowance to sales tax filers.

Proposed Law: The bill creates a vendor allowance for retailers that make taxable sales.

The bill provides a vendor allowance to sellers if the tax minus the allowance is both filed and paid on time. Eligible taxes include all sales and use taxes collected by the retailer at all locations in Minnesota and excludes use taxes paid by the seller on the seller's own purchases. The vendor allowance per reporting period may not be less than \$10 or the amount of eligible taxes collected during the reporting period, whichever is less.

The vendor allowance is based on a percentage of eligible taxes and are based on the following thresholds.

- a. For vendors with sales tax liability less than \$60,000 in a fiscal year the percentage is two percent.
- b. For vendors with sales tax liability between \$60,000 and \$600,000 in a fiscal year, the allowance is \$1,200 plus 1.5 percent of the amount over \$60,000 but not over \$600,000.
- c. For vendors with sales tax liability above \$600,000 in a fiscal year, the allowance is equal to \$9,300 plus two percent of the amount over \$600,000.

REVENUE ANALYSIS DETAIL

- The estimate of the vendor allowance is based on recent sales tax liabilities.
- Annual growth is estimated using projected growth of the sales and use tax revenue from the February 2025 state revenue forecast.

April 7, 2025

• The number of vendors impacted by the proposal are about 114,400 for the first tier, about 11,900 for the second tier, and about 1,400 in the final or third tier.

Source: Minnesota Department of Revenue

Tax Research Division

www.revenue.state.mn.us/research_stats/Pages/

Revenue-Analyses.aspx

hf2062(sf2609)_vendor allowance_1/ sd trc